

In 922 BC, during the reign of Solomon's son, King Rehoboam, the united kingdom that King David had forged from the twelve tribes of Hebrews split apart. Ten of the tribes formed a northern kingdom named the Kingdom of Israel, while the two remaining tribes, Judah and Benjamin, formed a southern kingdom called the Kingdom of Judah.

In 732 BC, Assyria invaded the northern kingdom and took the Hebrews into captivity, and the ten tribes disappeared forever.

In 597 BC, Babylon captured the southern kingdom and took it into captivity until 538.